Four Candidates Seek One Seat for SLCC Board of Trustees

Next Tuesday, voters will decide who will serve on the St. Louis Community College Board of Trustees for Subdistrict 1. The subdistrict includes the School District of Clayton.

On Tuesday, many St. Louis County voters will

Theodis Brown, Daryl Cothran, Doris A. Graham and Philip E. Smith are each vying for the opportunity to represent the district. Subdistrict 1 includes the ,  and  school districts. Incumbent and Rep. Margo McNeil (D-Florissant) holds the seat and decided to not seek re-election.

Earlier this month, Brown did not attend the meeting.

, said at the meeting that she’s passionate about education and would want to broaden the community’s involvement with the SLCC system and increase communication between levels.

Philip E. Smith, a retired teacher from the SLCC system, said, “St. Louis Community College offers an opportunity that four-year colleges can’t represent.” He also said that he thought his educational background would do well to serve the board.

Daryl Cothran, who announced he has not served as an educator in his background, said that his experience with finance and accounting would serve as a benefit to the board of trustees in contract negotiations and budgets.

The SLCC board of trustees is composed of six members who service the entire SLCC system and four districts. The board determines the policies of the system and makes decision on employment, new programs, fees, construction of facilities and disbursement of funds. The trustees have six-year terms.

There’s also an opening for Subdistrict 3 that voters in southern portions of St. Louis City and County will vote on next week.


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »